Cornell Students Hold “Cry-in” on Ho Plaza

Students hold "cry-in" on Ho Plaza to lament the results of the 2016 US Presidential Election

The November 9th "cry-in" on Ho Plaza

In a rather bleak display of unity, Cornell students clad in black held a “cry in” on Ho Plaza to express their grievances regarding the results of the presidential election. The event, which was sponsored by Planned Parenthood Generation Action at Cornell, consisted of students sitting around in a circle in front of Willard Straight Hall and displaying signs reading “As a compassionate person, this presidency is a personal attack” and “He’s not my president.”

The description on the Facebook event page read the following:

Join us as we hold each other, cry, and hug. We need to show that we are still here, we are not erased, and we matter.

Today we cry, but tomorrow we’ll fight against bigotry, racism, sexism, transphobia, xenophobia, islamophobia, anti-semitism, ableism, sexual assualt, restrictive immigration policies, etc etc.

The weapon we have is love (and activism, and rallies, and protests, and local/state elections, civil disobedience, and etc etc). We fight for and with each other.

Other students took to social media to express grievances. One student posted on the “Overheard at Cornell” Facebook page that “11/9 is the new 9/11,” which warranted offended responses from countless other students.

Instead of the cry-in, Cornell students should recognize that we are all united, and band together to create a specific plan and achieve actual progress, both on campus and off.

In several years, we will all be graduating and moving to the “adult” world. Adults recognize their unity through more productive means and work towards actual solutions. If Cornell students are truly this distraught by this election, then maybe they should realize this and begin behaving as the mature and sophisticated individuals that Cornell is supposed to teach them how to be.

ADDENDUM:
This piece is not meant to criticize the emotions of those who are anti-Trump, as many are understandably dismayed by the results of this election. Rather, the purpose is to criticize one way in which these emotions were displayed. There is no problem with peaceful public displays of emotion; in fact, such displays are how social progress is achieved. The author simply disagrees with the “cry-in” method as a means to conveying these emotions.

 

65 Comments on Cornell Students Hold “Cry-in” on Ho Plaza

  1. Couldn’t agree more. I didn’t want Trump to take office by any means, either, but here at Cornell we’re already so incredibly privileged that it strikes me as almost self absorbed to take this shocking news as a chance put on an enormous display of “woe is me.” Us Cornell students shouldn’t be posting everywhere how hard it is for us or publicly displaying just how oh-so-sad we are; rather, we should be using the talents and opportunities we’re incredibly fortunate to have to help people who are actually going to be directly affected by this. Think about gay people in homophobic rural areas, Mexicans in border states, minorities at the lowest income levels–the list goes on and on. These are the people that really are and should be afraid, because as much as we tweet and chalk otherwise, Trump is your president, my president, and, most frightening of all, their president. They don’t have the privilege of sitting around crying, or making posters or tweeting. They live in the real world, and are currently facing some very very real issues. We (Cornell students) are going to be okay. Not the best we’ve ever been, but we’ll endure, because Cornell as a community has been accepting of every person, any study since day one, and I see no indication that we’ll stop doing that because of Trump. Let’s stop worrying about ourselves. I know this is a campus full of capable, passionate people who have the means to make a difference and help those who need it. We cannot afford to spend our time at one of the best universities in the world, a privilege the vast majority of the world will never enjoy, crying in full view of everyone and convincing ourselves Trump isn’t happening, because he is. If we really care about this (which I hope most of us do), we must start doing what we can with what we’ve been given to help those who actually need it.

    • I think they should something to really cry about, like pepper spray.

      • If you’re going to say something insulting following an eloquent, constructive response, you should probably at least proofread it.

    • Hahahahahahah hahaha hahahahaha ahhhhh hahahahahahahahahahaha uuuuh hahahahahahajajajahahah aaaah hahahahahahahahahah

    • Helping Mexicans in border towns? How about the people who are seeing their towns overrun by people there illegally?? You people are out of touch. Cry racism all the time and soon it becomes just part of the noise. Cries of racism and misogyny take a back seat when people are trying to provide for their families. They know trump probably won’t deliver, but it’s a whole lot better than Hillary’s lack of focus on the region in general.

    • how can you fight against islamophobia and anti-semitism and in favor of LGBT in same breath

    • How about conservative students at intolerant northeastern universities, who are afraid to express mainstream political opinions? Don’t forget them.

  2. Ho Plaza? I am offended by that racist and sexist name. I demand it be removed.

  3. Interesting Stuff // November 9, 2016 at 7:10 pm //

    “Well, these past few weeks have confirmed my long-held beliefs on establishment politics. Hillary Clinton will be the next president of the United States, and I along with nearly half of the country will not recognize her presidency as legitimate.” – Alex Clark, Cornell Review, ‘The System is Rigged…And Illegitimate’, 25 Days ago.

    • Didn’t call for rioting, m8.

      • Interesting Stuff // November 12, 2016 at 4:48 pm //

        How are we supposed to take this then?
        “After this election, Trump’s supporters will refuse to merely step aside and support the president, just because “we are all Americans.'” – Alex Clark, Cornell Review, ‘The System is Rigged…And Illegitimate’, 28 Days ago.

  4. ya gotta heal first

    ya know

  5. So so so many things wrong with this, I don’t even know where to begin. This was not a stunt to get sympathy. This was a public display of empathy and support for the people who have and continue to feel marginalized in a society in which fear and hatred still permeate their lives. This was not sitting around and crying into coffee. This was a gathering of people who are saddened by the loss of a leader who values the things they hold dear. Real adults cry. Because we’re human. And we can be productive in the midst of our sadness. And when we can’t we are allowed to take time to thoughtfully reflect on the problem so that we can move forward in a less reactive and more proactive way. I’m very sorry if you have been otherwise. Maybe you should consider taking a class on empathy.

  6. These students need to wake-up and realize neither candidate is worth there tears. Both are vile and self-serving. Be the hero of your life. If you feel everyone health care is important maybe try to find local funding sources to start universal vaccinations and preventive care. Maybe use the taxes from Leaglized Pot?.

  7. Grow up! Get to class!

    • recognise your president and act like adults not sobbing half wits. He will do a lot more for you than killary ever would . BE PATRIOTIC and quit snivelling .

      • Just like people in some circles recognized Obama after he won in ’08 and ’12, and didn’t do their damnedest to undermine his authority whenever they could? The hypocrisy of some people is astounding.

        • Did you see students who didn’t vote for Obama sitting around with kleenex and tears flowing…NO, we may have totally disliked him, but life moved on and no ‘sit ins…’cry ins’ happened.

        • True, there were protests against Obama each time he won. But Cry-ins? Cancelled tests due to traumatized students? I don’t think so. Hypocrisy has nothing to do with it. The issue is coddled uninformed students who need safe-zones in order to cope with reality. I heard protesters in NY being quoted that “Trump is building a wall around Mexico” and “Trump is going to deport all Muslims”. Very sad state of our education system.

          If this is their reaction to an election, they best give up hope of having any meaningful career.

  8. Cry you entitlement generation morons. This is what happens to a group you gave out a lifetime of trophies for participation to.

  9. Face reality!

  10. At what point do you little cry babies look around and see that nobody cares about your little hopscotch chalk drawings? Don’t you feel like idiots when people are just passing you by? You’re a bunch of entitled losers and an embarrassment. Now go get your Range Rovers out of the no parking zones and effing grow up. Good luck crossing the streets of LIFE!

  11. John Zielinski // November 11, 2016 at 8:23 am //

    I feel sorry for these kids – they have been completely hoodwinked by the lying MSM, the propaganda machine of the establishment. They have no idea just how completely evil and corrupt Hillary and the DNC are. Perhaps one day they will realize that America dodged a bullet. I would suggest to them that they investigate the wikileaked Podesta emails should they want an informed opinion.

  12. Planned Parenthood? so they have a pro-baby murder group on campus now? sickening.

  13. This isn’t the dumbest article I’ve ever read… let people feel their emotions.

  14. Heheheh this is the funniest thing I have read this morning.

  15. LOSERS.

    GROW UP.

    LIFE IS HARD, AND THEN YOU DIE.

  16. I love how these folks get their picture taken and outed publicly for their stances, get you hide behind “Review Staff” to mask your views. At least these people are making a public statement of belief.

  17. Thank goodness President Trump will immediately stop all federal funding to universities/colleges damaging our young adults so horribly with the nihilistic victim culture being ingrained by marxist professors!
    The pseudo-intellectuals destroying our youth will be removed very quickly!!
    And our millennials can begin healing and growing away from the retardation of radical leftist ideology!!

  18. The “cry in” probably a bit much, but so is the editorial line of the Review’s original breaking post: that they’re crying because “they didn’t get their way.” Or, now, that every action taken by any group of people must be deemed “productive” to be justifiable. (“You there! Talking to your friend about her breakup! Will that help her get a new boyfriend?”)

    I get it: I remember being in college and thinking that I knew what mature, responsible approaches to difficult subjects look like. And I also know that, looking back, I’m not always proud of the things I did in public or wrote in student media when I was in my late teens/early twenties.

    But, the “cry in” isn’t hurting anybody. It’s not damaging anyone’s property. It’s not blocking traffic. It’s not even “disrespecting” the flag. If this is too much, then what’s left?

  19. This is what it sounds like when Dems cry

  20. The pussification of America thanks to liberal college professors. If these future Einsteins can’t handle the results of an election, I have very little hope for their success in life. What a waste of potential, not to mention mommy’s and daddy’s money. Boo-Hoo.

  21. Wordsworth Moonman III // November 11, 2016 at 2:50 pm //

    What a bunch of fags.

  22. Wow.. I’d seriously like to cry to lament our future to think these people might someday be in charge of something more than making my hamburger. Though I’m not sure if I Could trust their fragile little souls to accomplish that. Millenials truly have become something special.

  23. Why don’t these overpriveleged, whining, over-sensitive crybabies stop crying, grow up, act like adults and come to the realization that the world really doesn’t give a crap about their precious feelings. While they are crying, whining and feeling outraged, the rest of us are out there trying to make a living, put food on the table, keep a roof over the head of our families and, yes, pay for the damage and mischief that you boneheads cause. Grow the hell up and start acting like adults for a change!

    • Is that the best you can do, resort to childish name calling? Your response is just as worthless as theirs. We have a higher standard to up hold, lets not have our ideals of facing problems head on sullied by schoolyard taunts.

  24. Grow up people. It’s exhilarating that Trump won. Looking forward to border security, removing regulations that choke job creation, controlling and paying down the national debt. I find it ironic that you Dems are the ones rioting and not accepting the results after whining about Trump and his supporters. And I thought colleges are for free speech? Trump supporters are vilified by you liberals on campus and that includes Rawlings who made fun of Trump at orientation. Hashtag hypocrite.

  25. Why cry? Your alumni Ann Hart Coulter graduated from CU cum laude 1984. perfect example of an agent to manufacture consent out on there getting hate to be the brand, with her 11 books. Well done Delta Gama and CU. Own it.

  26. History Student // November 12, 2016 at 8:10 am //

    “Racists” was a word invented by Leon Trotksy. He murdered an estimated 4 million people who he considered “racists”. Anybody who uses the word “racists” could have enough hate in them to kill large numbers of people they stereotype.

  27. Dear editors: you are bringing national embarrassment to the school over what appears to be one bongo drum above a veggie burger cookout. In the end the school is your brand too, and it’s not like you’re at Berkeley or Brown. Just keep it real boys.

  28. Char Char Binks // November 12, 2016 at 7:26 pm //

    Ho, Ho, Ho!

  29. BAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA…..GAAAASSSPPPPP…AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA This is basically campaigning for Trump 2020

  30. It is because of actions such as the cry in, safe places, and just snowflakes in general that I no longer interview or hire from Cornell.

  31. This newspaper is cancer.

  32. Priceless! You state, “We do not apologize” under your title, yet you did just that with your addendum! You were spot on with your review, but lost credibility with your apology addendum.

  33. “Cry and hug ” ? ” Were here and we matter ” ?
    Bunch of whimy bitches….There’s no room in this country for pussies anymore…see if canada will have you !

  34. Stop pampering and promoting childish behavior.

    We have elections every 4-years, understand the issues, learn how to ignore the propaganda and then go vote. This is an epic failure on the Universities in cuddling bad behavior. 98% of contributing Americans woke up the next morning and went to work.

  35. Ok! I get that they don’t like the fact that Trump won and Hillary lost. But you ignorant sheltered spoiled mommy and daddy’s boys and girls need to realize. Life goes on, Cornell is still the easiest Ivy to get into, and you don’t come into a restaurant that closes at 9:00 at 9:01, the people who live here year round have a message.

    Stop crying that the locals don’t like you. Buy a helmet you’ll need it. And last but not least… Happiness comes in small doses… It’s a cigarette, a 5 second orgasm, or a chocolate chip cookie. You cum, you eat the cookie, you smoke the butt and go to sleep and you get up and go to work the next morning… End of list.

  36. In 1942, 18-22 year-olds were jumping out of airplanes and dying fighting Germans. In 2016, 18-22 year-olds are in university cry rooms, playing with teddy bears, coloring books and Play-Doh to cope with the election, and hiding in “safe spaces” to protect their fragile feelings from harsh rhetoric.

  37. Back in 1942, 18-22 year-olds were jumping out of airplanes and dying fighting Germans. Today in 2016, 18-22 year-olds are in university cry rooms, playing with teddy bears, coloring books and Play-Doh to cope with the election, and hiding in “safe spaces” to protect their fragile feelings from harsh rhetoric.

  38. HortusHortator // November 21, 2016 at 5:42 pm //

    Weak ass liberals.

    We’re going to win in 2020 too, especially after the economy bounces back.

    I’d be so ashamed to go to a “cry in” like a little bitch.

  39. What a bunch of useless, cowardly twats.

  40. Cry in? What for you find something to cry about every day

  41. When I attended college I was surrounded by other adults who behaved as adults. Reading accounts of college students holding “cry ins”, needing colouring books, playdough & therapy dogs in order to help them handle the results of an election makes me sad. These people, I’m told, represent the future of our country. How can they possibly be expected to function as responsible adults if their response to disappointment involves playdough?
    In 2008 & 2012 Republican/Conservative Americans were disappointed with the results of a Presidential election. Do you remember them rioting? Attacking Obama supporters? Needing colouring books & playdough? You don’t remember those things because they didn’t happen. They didn’t happen for two reasons. Those people actually are adults & also, they had jobs to go to. If you actually work for a living you can’t take a week off to protest.
    The intolerance represented by the protesting lefties also astonishes me. Liberals claim to respect all points of view but then they are surprised to learn that there are other points of view. For some reason lefties think they have a claim on objective truth in areas where there is no objective truth. People’s belief systems are a product of their life experiences & values.
    Want to see another point of view concerning illegal immigrants? Do a google search for Mexico’s immigration laws. I think you’ll be surprised.

  42. What a bunch of self-absorbed snowflakes! I graduated from Cornell in the 1970’s … my, how the students have changed …

Comments are closed.

UA-64354029-1